At Last! Harry Potter!

At long last, the world has been graced with the newest installment of Harry Potter, “Harry Potter & The Half Blood Prince”.  After reading the books manically last early Summer, the movies were all I have left.  I vividly remember closing the final book in July 2008 and knowing the only comfort I had was, “well at least the next movie comes out in November”.

BUT Warner Brothers threw us a curve and pushed the opening date to 7/15/09. UGH. But luckily time went by kinda fast and dah dah! This past Wednesday was Potter day! Obviously I went on opening day,  got advanced tickets, waited on line early, and basically had to muffle a sob when the movie began.

And I have to say after all the hype and year worth of waiting…it wasn’t the best Potter. BUT only because the book, in my opinion, was the very best of the series.  When a book is as detailed and action packed as the Half Blood Prince, how could you possibly get that all in under 3 hours? The last book, Deathly Hallows, is being split into two movies for just that reason.

Rather than focus on what went wrong in the movie, let’s focus on some of the good & fun:

  • Ron was muscular and girls liked him? Ha, the whole scene where he is playing quidith and totally working the crowd was hysterical. It was also nice to see him getting some attention for a change.  I for one would probably hate being friends with Harry. How do you compare with the “chosen one”?

  • Bellatrix had a very strong presence in the film. Her character is phenomenal and Helena Bonham Carter (the actress who plays her) does the most amazing job ever. Bellatrix is crazy and loves to kill people, blow things up, & cause trouble.  She also knows exactly how to push people’s buttons and use their good hearts against them.

  • Snape. Sweet wonderful Snape.  At this point during my reading, I HATED him with a burning passion and wanted to seek revenge for his treacherousness. In this book, you really have no idea what is going on with him.

  • Lavender was great.  She was a typical horror of a teenager desperately in love with Ron. I guess  she just couldn’t resist those muscules.
  • Horace Slughorn, the new Potions teacher this year, was hilarious. His facial expressions are priceless.
  • Jenny being much larger than Harry. I guess when you start off with such young children, you hope that they’ll grow to a nice size.  Jenny looks like a big strong rugby player while Harry is a petitey waif. Ooops. Oh well.
  • Draco  finally showed a different side of his character. In the past he was always mean and cold. Now you could feel his fear and desperation.
  • LUNA. Looking so magnificantly quirky as usual. The only down fall was she didn’t have much of a role in the movie. All her fantastic props made up for it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Lord almighty, Tom Riddle aka Lord Voldermort as a child. SO creepy. How didn’t anyone know how scary and distrurbed he was.  If I was a professor, hell no would I think he’d be using magic for good.

There are other great moments I can’t think of off the top of my head, but these give you an idea of what we’re working with. So go, go see Harry Potter!! Better yet, read!  I probably sound like a broken record by now, but *sigh* the best series of books of my life.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “At Last! Harry Potter!

  1. I can’t wait until I can finally watch it. I’m so excited!

  2. chris b

    you’re crazy! deathly hallows was so much better than half blood prince

  3. kristicu423

    Ok don’t get me wrong. I LOVED Deathly Hallows. BUT it was very stressful due to all the chaos and deaths etc. I was literally drained after reading the book. Then again, I really shouldn’t be playing favorites…I love them all!

Leave a Reply

