Newest Addition To The Family

On Father’s Day, my sister Heidi & her boyfriend brought the newest addition of their family….drum roll please….

Aonghus! Here he is lounging on the couch.

Picture 046

Now I know what you may be thinking,

“what kind of dog is that? I’ve never seen one quite like it!”

Well,  Aonghus is a Lurcher.  The lurcheris not a dog breed, but rather a type of dog. It is a hardy crossbred sighhound that is generally a cross between a sighthound and any other breed, usually a pastoral dog or Terrier. Collie crosses have always been very popular. Lurchers can be crossed several times.

He is a mixture of (a) Deer Hound (b) Irish Wolf Hound (c) Greyhound (I believe) (d) Collie

I can not even begin to express how sweet & kind Aonghus is. After losing our Collie Jessica last year, my mom & I have been missing the presence of a dog. While living at home, I have been egging her on to hopefully sway her in the direction of getting  another doggie (who I can basically play and snuggle with until I move far far away).  Well it doesn’t look like I’ve done a great job, but meeting Aonghus was like re-visiting with Jessica.  They both share this wonderful kind & gentle energy that not all dogs have.  And I have to say, he is unbelievable calm & relaxed for being a puppy. Right away, we could snuggle up to him and welcome him to the family. After they left, I couldn’t help but feel lonely for a dog of my own.

Picture 049

Heidi, Thorsten, & Aonghus out playing in the yard. 

After about 20 minutes or so, the two boys became friends.

Picture 047

Thorsten & Aonghus napping after playing outside.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Newest Addition To The Family

  1. Jay

    That’s pretty cute. Aonghus is one heck of an Irish name, isn’t it?

  2. kristicu423

    Haha I know isn’t it? All of his siblings share the same kind of name.

Leave a Reply

