The Adventures With Venison: Episode 3

As I have mentioned in the past, my sister’s boyfriend is a hunter and wonderfully passes along venison to my family.  Unlike the other times where I was working with ground venison, this time I had steak.  My boyfriend was coming over for dinner, so I figured it was the perfect chance to play around with a new recipe.

Venison & Bacon Casserole

I found the recipe here at http://www.cooks.com/rec/doc/0,168,148168-251195,00.html if you’d like to take a peek, but I’ll give you a quick run through:

Step 1: Layer the bottom of the casserole dishes with bacon.march-2009-029

Step 2: Throw cut up potatoes & onions on top of the bacon. Add a sprinkle of salt and pepper.march-2009-030

Step 3: Top that layer off with cut up pieces of venison. I then sprinkled a little garlic powder on the meat.march-2009-031

Step 4: Repeat steps 2 & 3.  After your through, combine cans of mushroom soup and beef consomme and pour into your casserole dishes, making sure everything is nicely covered.march-2009-033

Step 5: Cover the dish with the remaining bacon and cook for 2 hours at 350 degrees.

0011

Step 6: Serve over rice and enjoy!

002

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Adventures With Venison: Episode 3

  1. emsilees09

    Bacon makes everything better. Though I’m full just looking at those pics.

Leave a Reply

