More Fun With Venison

Yes my friends, it’s that time of year again! As I mentioned in my old blog, http://theadventuresofkristine.blogspot.com/2008/07/what-i-had-for-dinner-last-night.html

my sister’s boyfriend hunts, and sure enough once he finds what he is looking for, shares the wealth! With my newly welcomed venison meat in tow,   I have the joy to come up with interesting dishes to prepare.

Being the classy girl that I am, here’s what I made:

sloppy-joe-2

Venison Messy Joseph’s Served with French Fries

sloppy-joe-1

I over-estimated how much meat I had (it was deceivingly small all wrapped up) so did not have enough of the mix stuff for the meat. I like it super saucy (obviously) and extra messy.  So I improvised. I poured some salsa in (very tasty) lots of garlic (hence why my hands always smell like garlic) and onions because, well…because I had some.

I rarely cook meat. Besides chicken, I’m at a loss. Venison? It’s game meat. Definitely ranks high on the meat spectrum.  Unfortunately, I eat a lot of veggies and tofu, so it was pretty much wasted on me.  The meat gave me no inspiration, so I made one of the few dishes I could think of that would work.

Later telling my roommate my dilemma (I know such a hard life I live) on how I didn’t know what to do with it and “What oh what can I make with ground venison”, she replied, “um. hamburgers”….

DAMNIT. Hamburgers! Why didn’t I think of that?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “More Fun With Venison

  1. emsilees09

    HAHAHA. I would have thought of a venison hat before I thought of hamburgers. Too much tofu on the brain.

Leave a Reply

