The First Day Of Winter…Hurray?

For most of my life, I have never been a big fan of the Winter time.  It was always a season to “get through”.  Generally, I complained & complained until April hit and the sunshine warmed my heart again. After months of wah-wah’ing, people would begin to ask (because surely my sorrow was annoying after a month or so), “WELL… why don’t you just move somewhere that is warm all year long?”

HMM. Why didn’t I move somewhere warm? That way, there would be no end to the sunshine.  No reason to feel the need to bulk up.  Pssssh stay warm. Hibernate.  Buy coats and sweaters and gloves and tights and hats.

WELL. After much consideration, you know what? I don’t think that if I lived in a place where the weather never changed,  would feel as though time was going by.  I love the changing of the seasons, even with horrific months like February (which is by far the bleakest time of the year. SO cold. SO dark. No thanks).  Fall is wonderful with the colors and the crispness after the hot summer.  Spring is amazing with that bubbly energy in the air that can only happen when the earth is re-awakening and alive again. How do you describe that sweet polleny dew?  I wish I could bottle it up and spray it around the apartment during the Winter.  Annnnnnnnd Summer. Sweet wonderful Summer, who I love so dearly. But now that I have a 9-5 job it’s a bitter sweet time of year.  No longer do I have time or the freedom to lazy my days away on the beach, so I tend to super pout and resent anyone who actually gets to truly enjoy their Summers. This is definitely something I need to change.

So here I am, on the first day of Winter and it’s cold as cold can be.  Despite it all, I really have no complaints.

Well. There is one.  This morning, with the wind chill factor, was roughly  -4 degrees in the city. NEGATIVE FOUR.  So I stacked up the layers. Tights, HUGE socks, boots, pants, shirt, sweater, coat, hat, mittens, AND a scarf. And they kept me pretty warm.  BUT, now sitting in the office I am hot. And I’m not going to take off all the layers because I’ll be going outside soon and who needs the hassle of taking off tights and socks and putting them back on again?

Not I. So I guess this will do.

Let’s end on a positive note and talk about good things in the winter.  Being warm and snugly. Embracing indoor activities like going to the movies and arts & crafts. Hot chocolate, warm cookies, baking. The contrast of a burning fire and crisp fresh air.   Wearing boots and tights and hats and not feeling bad about not doing one single thing in a day because “brrr it’s too cold out”.  Being so cabin fever that the return of Spring is the best thing that has ever happened to you. 

Best of all, I think it teaches you how to truly appreciating the good.  You can’t do that without the bad. If I lived somewherewarm all year long, I’d probably be jaded by a life of everyday beautifulness…..  Or maybe I’d feel extremely blessed on a February afternoon beach side. When I’d be just enough sun-kissed, would hop on the hammock in the shade to listen to the news.  I would turn on the weather and laugh at the record breaking winter-winds in the Northeast. Yeah, I have a lot to think about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

