Ahhh The Joys of Feminism

During college, I was forced to take 3 Women’s Studies classes and was NOT happy about it.  Generally, the classrooms were filled with Women’s Studies majors who constantly wah wahed about women being the largest forgotten minority. I swear, I’d walk out of “Women & Minorities in the Media” class with the biggest headache because I spent most of the time in class rolling my eyes.

Feminism is the center of many different paths and debates; what is moving forward and what is jumping back.  For the majority of my day-to-day life, I don’t think too much about it.  I am surrounded by strong women, whether it be my personal or professional life. What is there to complain about?  The only one reminding me there are still concerns is the media.

Recently two topic/articles have jumped at me, leaving the impression of, uggggghhhhhhhh there MUST be more important news than this. 

Last week,  New York Magazine had a feature entitled, ‘Gender Bender’, which talked about the fact that “More women are drinking, and the women who drink are drinking more, in some cases matching their male peers. This is the kind of equality nobody was fighting for”.  What I find fascinating here is that in reality,  it has nothing  to with fighting for equality.  It has to do with the group of people who are doing the drinking.  This group is my generation, the children of the feminist movement.  Growing up, we were never told we were less than our boy peers, never forced to believe, “the ultimate goal is to be a good wife and mother”, and were taught to make our own lives and paths.  In addition, it is just being a part of a culture.  Especially being in New York, where drinking is a huge part of life, we aren’t doing it for a political statement, we are doing it because yes, we like to go out and have some drinks and don’t need men there to do so.  My girlfriends and I who work in NYC, collectively go out for drinks with friends, co-workers, for events, happy hours, celebrations, and so on.  It’s not to make a statement, it’s just living life.  What would the mother’s of feminism say? Would they be proud of the progress the next generation made?

Then you see the next issue of  Barbie vs. Bratz dolls. The story should have simply read – After the holidays, Bratz will be no more.  The creator worked at Mattel, stole ideas, blah blah blah. But of course, all the mom’s got involved, worried their daughters are being influenced by the Bratz racy clothes and makeup. Wah wah wah.   I used to LOVE playing with Barbies.  I’m pretty sure most little girls since the beginning of the doll enjoyed dressing them up, doing their hair, and so on.  Never have I heard someone say, “lucky…I wish I was thin and looked like her…”  It’s. A. Doll.  Little girls seem to know this and probably only get image insecurity from television and the people who raise them.  I’m guessing that it’s the mother’s own insecurites to as why they want these dolls far far away.  I understand that children seem to be growing up faster than usual, but couldn’t it be the influences that young girls have in their home life?

So why am I ranting and raving this morning? What’s my point may be another question.  I guess all of this got me thinking about being a female in a society of such mix thoughts, stereotypes and diverse ideas of image.  In the long run, I think we should just live. More forward.  Isn’t that the best for human kind? To just keep moving forward and stop fretting and worrying about what everyone else is doing?  What does it matter if I go out for drinks after work or somewhere along the road I buy my daughter a doll to play with? Does there really need to be such speculation on life when it is just that?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ahhh The Joys of Feminism

  1. I’m a feminist blogger, so all that stuff is relevant to me. Tons of psychological studies do show that things like bratz dolls and other main stream images do set what is perceived to be a psychological norm. It’s so subconscious that most of us will claim that we’re not influenced by it, when in reality we actually are.

Leave a Reply

