Where Have I Been?

Under a rock?  Hibernating for the winter? How didn’t I know that Betty Page died last week!

She lead a very interesting life.   Betty Page was truly an American icon, applauded for being absolutely comfortable in her skin, and helped lay the  path to the sexual revelution.    Eventually, she became a Born Again Christian….It just comes to show you NEVER know where life is going to take you. One thing that sadly struck me was this quote I found from an interview back in 1998.  

“I don’t want to be photographed in my old age,” she told an interviewer . “I feel the same way with old movie stars. … It makes me sad. We want to remember them when they were young.”

It must be difficult when the entire world focused on your beauty and nothing beyond your physical attributes.  The public is cruel.  I’d probably do the same thing.  Hide away so people couldn’t poke fun and speculate to how much or badly I’ve aged.  How do you accept growing older and your beauty fading  when your mind was never the object of desire. I don’t think I’m going handle aging at all.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where Have I Been?

  1. This is why I’m a writer – i am rarely in pictures.

Leave a Reply

