Dracula’s Ball

One of my favorite things to do is dress up.  Since I was little, I have been enchanted by interestn8834968_42603663_578211ing & crazy costumes, over the top makeup, and anything that had to do with the unusual. So it was to no surprise that I jumped at the chance to join my sister, her boyfriend, and some of their friends to the Dracula’s Ball in Philly this past weekend.

My brother was also going to come and we were puzzled what to wear to this type of event.  Neither one of us is goth. Let me re-phrase that. We are SOOOO the complete opposite of Gothic. There are many genres we could have pull off, but I assumed we were just way too smiley and cheerful for goth. 

After taking a look at the event’s website (they have basically every single question and concern covered there, including pictures of what people typical wear) I ultimately decided on a vinyl dress, fish nets, and heels.  Jason wore all black, a black wig with some blue streaks, and sprayed his goatee black, which is usually sunshine blond. Add a little dark make-up on and we almost pulled it off. 

As the days approached, I began to wonder what it would be like.  My sister had never been, but heard it was fun, but….I mean, I knew little to nothing about this sub-genre of people. What if we were way out of our leagues?

Omg. Amazing. Amazing amazing amazing. I couldn’t have had a better time.  

The guest list: The costumes stretched from super goth, romantic goth, Victorian period, people in all black, some in outfits resembling pirates, bikers, and whimsical gown. Basically,  people wore whatever Dracula’s Ball meant to them. And they were all the most wonderful and friendly welcoming group. Seriously, I would have had no problem going solo.

Atmosphere: HUGE club.  If not paying close attention, you were doomed to search the labyrinth for at least 20 minutes until finding a familiar face. There was floor after floor,  staircases, outdoor areas, dance floors, only 21 year old floors , cubbies that went far back for places for you to sit, a stage and dance area for the performers.  Seriously.  Wonderful. And it was the perfect ambiance. Dark with exposed pipes. Very ala factory.

The best news of all? They go on ALL the time. Hence. Guess where I hope to be New Years Eve? Who’s with me? What better way to start the new year than by rockin it out with a couple characters clad in vinyl…?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dracula’s Ball

  1. Woah, that dress is very, very sexy.

Leave a Reply

